Sneak Peek of Sky Knight’s Sequel

I promised I’d leak some information about the sequel to Sky Knight soon, and here it is.

WARNING: If you haven’t read Sky Knight, turn back now. There are some spoilers in this sneak peek, so don’t read past this paragraph if you haven’t read the first book yet and don’t want anything to be ruined. You have been warned. Remember that. 😉

Also, bear in mind that this is a rough draft and not the final product. Enjoy! 🙂

~

Taliah’s eyes slowly opened, a frown overtaking her features as she glanced up to Roarke. “Why did you do it? Why help me break out of the Asylum?”

Now the pirate looked oddly uncomfortable, just like the first time she’d asked, though he covered it nicely with a complacent smile, holding both arms at the elbows across his chest. “I thought we’d gone over this: I enjoyed the challenge.”

“Come on,” coaxed Taliah, pushing an awkward smile onto her lips. “Don’t be lazy about it. You must have a better reason for going through all that trouble.”

He shrugged in reply. “No, I really don’t. I just wanted to do it.”

His evasiveness was now starting to irritate Taliah. “A person doesn’t spend eight months of their life plotting to break into the Asylum because they just wanted to.”

“Then I suppose I’m mentally unstable, just as my criminal chart reads.”

“So there was no angle?” Taliah prodded. “Nothing to achieve from this?”

At those questions, the smile slipped from Roarke’s face and he turned, laughing as he made his way back to his desk. Taliah remained rooted to the spot, finding his behaviour odd. “Why are you laughing?” she demanded.

The pirate leaned his thighs against the desk, his arms still crossed, and now there was something of a dogged look in his eyes. “You were asking because you thought I wanted something from you, and yet here I was, thinking you were trying to pull a confession out of me. I mean, it’s an awfully nice romantic gesture, breaking someone out of the Asylum.” He again laughed, and Taliah felt the base of her neck heat. She shifted uncomfortably where she stood.

“Aye, perhaps I did have an angle,” said the pirate darkly, aiming a finger at her from the nook of his arm. “You’re Lieutenant Storme, sweetheart of the chancellor. You have knowledge of the Legion I could use to my advantage, not to mention other useful skills in the areas of combat and deception.” A wicked smile crossed his lips, and Taliah’s frown deepened. “Aye, there was an angle, love. You and I are going to take down the Legion.”

One thought on “Sneak Peek of Sky Knight’s Sequel

Leave a Reply

