Star Trek: Into Awesomeness

So last night I finally went to watch the Star Trek sequel “Into Darkness”. It was pretty awesome. My boyfriend and I went to the IMAX showing and afterwards I was so happy that we chose 3D IMAX. Let me tell you why.

J.J. Abrams said in an interview that this new Star Trek movie would offer the best 3D, that their effects would go far beyond what they did in the first movie. He was right. It’s not often that 3D effects make me jump, yet in the first three minutes of the movie I had been startled twice by things flying at me. The 3D was amazing. Everything felt very real and space even looked pretty terrifying with giant masses of dark clouds and sharp rubble flying towards the screen. The camera shots made the 3D good, of course. There were a ton of amazing shots where I found myself impressed with the movie.

Let’s talk about the cast. I think they’re pretty perfect to be honest. I love that Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto play Kirk and Spock, respectfully. Karl Urban as Bones is just great, and Simon Pegg as Scotty is hilarious. The new edition to the cast in this movie is Benedict Cumberbatch as the war machine Khan. At first I was just like, “Look, it’s Sherlock. He’s angry. He’s blowing stuff up.” But then I kind of forgot that he was Sherlock. It may have been after he pulled out a machine gun and decimated two dozen Klingons. Or when he crushed a man’s skull using his bare hands. Anyway, I was thoroughly impressed. A big part of the movie involves trying to decide if you should trust this super-powered man or not, and I have to say that I was pretty undecided for a while. He played it well.

Many people are saying that the story falls short, that the movie should have delivered more, that it was weak. I think I understand where they’re coming from. There is one scene near the end that – to me – fell short. It didn’t make me sad like it should have, and I’m not sure it was because of poor writing. I think it may have been more of a “you know what’s going to happen so you don’t feel upset” kind of problem. As to the rest of the plot-line, I really enjoyed it. I love the cast. I love their lines. There was lots of danger but they pulled through due to quick thinking and logic. You also saw Kirk develop into a responsible leader – or at least a leader that is willing to take responsibility when things go south.

I’m really hoping they make more Star Trek movies. I haven’t watched the show but I’m sure there are more ideas kicking around that Abrams could use. I really love his work and will give anything he makes a look or two. That’s why I was so excited for the first Star Trek movie to launch and why I knew it was going to be good.

Let’s cross our fingers for another movie in the future.

~ Sandra

Leave a Reply

