Representing Your Homeland … You Are Doing It Wrong

I am going to make a double post today, just because I can.

I came across something irritating the other day online. And by irritating I mean extremely and completely maddening to the point of shouting at the computer screen.

Someone from the province in which I live – a local author – wrote in the introduction of her book that she “apologizes for the bad grammar” of her province and thanks her editor for fixing it up.

I have to say that this is completely unfair in every way. It isn’t the fault of the province that you spell and write so horribly that you need an editor to fix it. It is YOUR fault, and yours alone. I went through school in the same province. I can write just fine. Yet you use the place you live as an excuse? Nonsense.

Representing your homeland … you are doing it wrong!

One thought on “Representing Your Homeland … You Are Doing It Wrong

Leave a Reply

