What I’ve Been Reading Lately

I promise this post is not about my published works. haha

Anyway! This is a post about the books I have been reading lately.

I bought three books at a sale at Coles a while back, put them on my bookshelf, and forgot about them for a time. They were $2 each (yes, what a deal, I know!) so obviously I was going to buy them. You can’t pass up a deal that good for fiction that may (or may not) be fantastic.

The first book I decided to read was Discord’s Apple by Carrie Vaughn. At first, this book seemed pretty interesting, and for $2 (like I stated before) I wasn’t simply going to pass up the chance to buy an interesting book. Yet as I read through the first few chapters, I found myself becoming bored. In all honesty, I’m not a fan of military talk, and the main character was developing a comic series based around American military. So I lost interest (even after skipping ahead and seeing characters like Arthur and Merlin pop up [I’m bit of a Camelot fan]) and quit reading.

On to the next book! This one was called City of Night by Michelle West. So this one seemed far more interesting than the last. However, I was very, very disappointed because it was the second book of a series! 😦 So I couldn’t read it without the first one and had to put it back on the shelf for later.

The last book couldn’t possibly let me down, and I was right! It was called The Magician’s Apprentice by Trudi Canavan, and I absolutely loved it! I really couldn’t put it down, and even stayed up all night reading until it was finished. The characters were all amazing, the plot progressed nicely, and I loved how magic worked in this writer’s world. There was also this love story you obviously knew was unfolding, and the goal of the main character eventually worked its way out (like you knew it would).

But even if you think it’s going to be a happy ending, aha! You’re wrong! Many people died, including characters you had grown to like. It adds to the grim reality of the world you are in while reading the story. The only issue I really had with this book is the main character, (or I assumed to be “main”) Tessia, slowly lost control of her viewpoint chapters as the book went on. In fact, it seemed to shift over more often to her mentor or her fellow apprentice. So I found myself disappointed several times when I really wanted to read a scene about Tessia, but it was only briefly mentioned by another character or left out altogether. More important events that should have been in her viewpoint also disappointed me. It was a little frustrating that she was being left out.

So I didn’t exactly triumph in my book reading. Though, I did find a gem in the pile and I am glad that I bought it. It’s been so long since I last found a good fantasy book. Maybe I should start reading Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. I was actually approached at the bookstore while looking at said book and told of how great a story it was.

Leave a comment if you’ve read the above books (or haven’t) and share your opinions! Thanks for reading!

~ Sandra

Leave a Reply

