Violin & Book Trailer Ideas

So I’ve been practicing violin lately. I don’t know very much about it yet, but I’ll get there someday. I went out and bought a new E string because the old one squeaked a lot. And then my A string decided to burst while I was tuning it. Now I need to go back up to the music store and buy more strings. I grudgingly regret not buying the whole set while I was there before, because it’s so far away.

When I do get my string back into place, I’m going to return to practicing. I’m trying to learn something neat, like the Final Fantasy theme song. It sounds quite beautiful and I’m determined to learn it. Does anyone know of any good beginner songs?

Also, I’ve been thinking about making a book trailer, but I’m not sure how to go about it. I have video, animation and sound editing knowledge, but I’m not super fantastic at it, so it’s not going to look like some amazing animated movie trailer. It would be nice, but it’s not going to happen. Once I establish that unfortunate truth, I start to think on ways a book trailer may look good. It needs a certain simplistic charm that will captivate the viewers, but not look so simple that it looks bad.

I don’t think I need to worry about music. Non-royalty music can be found quite easily, but it still has to fit the mood of the video. Yet I’m not even sure what the overall mood should be. Should I put characters into the video, or just show important objects that relate to the story? Voice overs on the text, or just eye-catching phrases that will attract your attention anyway?

It’s a lot to consider. I’ll have to sketch out my ideas on a storyboard first. It seems like the most practical thing to do. If anyone has had experience with making book trailers, or has any ideas that can help me, please leave a comment below.

~ Sandra

Leave a Reply

