Talkin’ bout Marketin’

Hiya all! I’m now at 30 posts! Yay~!

In other news, my book is now available to purchase at amazon or smashwords for $0.99! This is pre-print price, and it will go up a few dollars after the printed copies come out next week. So grab a copy while it’s cheap!

Anyway… let’s talk marketing. I’ve received my super awesome posters today (keeping two to hang up 🙂 and sticking the rest up around the city. The only question is, where exactly can I place these? There are common places I know of, like university, colleges, downtown, etc., but there must be more clever places to put up posters.

So readers, do you have any ideas? I would love to hear what you have to say.

I’ve also thought about sticking one or two up around my apartment building, but I’m sure management be like, “RAWR! Blah-de-blah, take down posters!” So I’m not going to risk it.

Also, does anyone know of any good blogs/forums where there are avid readers who like fiction/adventure and the whole like?

I’ve gotten a few good ideas from the pros over at http://thebookmarketingnetwork.com/. Things like putting posters up in your car, creating facebook & Twitter profiles for your book characters, staying in touch with top bloggers, and great stuff like that.

The problem with marketing is a budget. I have very limited funds right now, so something like http://www.iuniverse.com/ would be very, very expensive for me. The cheapest package is around $600 (and doesn’t include much at all), while the best package is $4000 and contains quite a few interesting things. But it’s $4000.

So… manual and free advertising is the only way to go right now. I’ve been thinking about designing my own business cards as well, depending on how much it would cost to print said cards.

Anyhow, marketing is quite the tricky and difficult endeavour. It requires a lot of hard work, especially when you’re doing it on your own. i.e. without a large publisher behind you.

Anyway, let me know what kind of marketing strategies you guys have, what worked and didn’t work, and all your crazy stories of being a published writer.

~ Sandra

4 thoughts on “Talkin’ bout Marketin’

  1. Hi Sandra,

    Wow, congratulations on having your book on Amazon and coming out in paperback! That’s a dream of mine, and I’m so happy it’s coming true for you!

    I don’t have any advice to give, I’m afraid. I wish you all the best!

    Do you mind if I ask if you’re self-published? Did you hire an editor, or do everything yourself? I’d really appreciate any tips, as I’m trying to get a novel wrapped up, myself. Thanks. Good luck! I hope you sell many, many copies! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! 🙂

      I am self-published, no editor. I did everything on my own (save for support from people I know).

      I don’t have much tips to offer, to be honest. I can tell you the process I went through, though. I published on Amazon (kindle version). It’s really simple. Just send in your file and hope they approve it. Then you may push that file to createspace, where they can make printed copies of your book. You can there, make your own cover (which I did) or pay someone on the site to do it for you. Then you put all your files together and choose price, sizes, distribution, etc. and wait for it to also be approved. 🙂

      The hardest part is marketing, though. It’s so hard on your own!! But I wish you much luck with your novel. If I find out some clever tips, I’ll be sure to post them up here. So far I’m still kind of new to the publishing world.

      Hope you publish your story too soon! 😀

      ~ Sandra

      Like

  2. I think this is like a month old, but I would really suggest you post to Reddit. The group at r/writing is fantastic, and if you ask for an honest review/critique you’re likely to get it.

    http://www.reddit.com/r/writing

    Also, where your at .99 cents there are bound to be a few people on there willing to pick up your book for the price alone.

    Like

    • I actually tried this. I think you suggested it to Mike once to tell me, and so I instantly went to do it. I got a little bit of feedback from it too. I’m not sure if it made a difference, but I’d like to think it did. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

