Just Keep Swimming, Just Keep Swimming, Swimming, Swimming, Swimming …

Hey November! Yeah, you! I don’t really think it was the best time to schedule NaNoWriMo. Do you think you could possibly change it to some other month? … No? … What if I gave you a cookie? … No? … Okay, fine. I guess I’ll suck it up.

I’m on 3,000 words so far, which isn’t bad, I guess. But I know I’m going to fall behind. I can feel it coming! I have loads of work on my hands with little time for writing. My work term is time consuming, unfortunately.

So what’s my solution, you may ask?

Well, running off to some quiet, remote location to write isn’t really the answer, so plan B … which is finding time to write.

Yes, we all have those moments in the day when we’re tired and worn out from work/school, etc., and those other times when you just don’t have the motivation to write. That’s fine. Take that time to relax. But don’t sit there all day watching TV reruns, being unproductive while your computer is making sad faces at you because you won’t spend some quality time with it.

I know I have several procrastinating problems. One is watching my favourite TV show until I reach the end of the season. Another would be social media sites, such as facebook. Even game shortcuts on my desktop are distracting.

 

Here’s some helpful advice for the struggling writer:

– Hide your TV remote and stay away from that evil box!

– Remove all game shortcuts from your desktop

– Try to stay away from media sites such as facebook, twitter, etc.

– Don’t put it off. Schedule a certain time/date to write and stick to it!

– Reward yourself for completing a page. “Here, Sandra. Have a cookie!” (remember to bake cookies beforehand)

– Music can be distracting, but it can also help depending on the writer. Choose songs that fit your story

– Take a break from time to time. Not a long one, but long enough to grab a snack or a relaxing bath

– Ask someone about your progress. A bit of encouragement goes a long way!

– Walks are good for collecting thoughts and clearing your mind of all negativity

– Finally, talk with other writers and share opinions. You’ll feel more motivated when you are surrounded by others with the same passion for writing!

 

This is going to be a hectic ride, but I’m strapped in and ready to go! Good luck to everyone competing and remember, as Dory says, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, swimming, swimming, swimming …”

~ Sandra

2 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming, Just Keep Swimming, Swimming, Swimming, Swimming …

  1. Keep up the hard work, Sandra. It will be so worth it in the end. Week 2 is said to be the hardest and most frustrating, but weeks 3 and 4 are a lot of fun. Don’t give in to the temptation of skipping a day or stopping altogether.

    P.S. Finding Nemo is a great movie. Nice motto for the NaNo journey. 🙂

    Like

    • Sadly, as I’ve written in my latest post, I will have to withdraw from NaNoWriMo. : (

      Usually Novembers are so boring and uneventful, but this November is chalked full of stuff I need to do. NaNoWriMo is always getting pushed aside, and I haven’t written in two days. (soon to be three)

      But I do love the idea of the event, and will sign up next year. I won’t be busy next year like I am this year, so I’m sure I’ll have more fun and interest in it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

