National Novel Writing Month … A.K.A. NaNoWriMo

So I signed up to NaNoWriMo, which is the National Novel Writing Month. It’s my first year as a participant and to be honest, I think it will be quite the challenge. I’ll be on my workterm during the program, so it’ll be somewhat of a rush to me. I’m a little worried I won’t be able to finish 50,000 words in time, but I’m going to try my hardest!

I think this is a great program to get people involved with writing. It’s not only forcing you to push yourself to your limits, but it provides both new and old writers with a great experience that will really get them motivated. There’s so much practice to gain from this program, not to mention the fact that if you aren’t already completely familiar with the keys on your computer, you will be afterwards. : )

I haven’t found any ideas yet, but I’m going to follow my old strategies and brainstorm a bit. I have a whole month to think about the kind of story I want to write, after all.

What about you guys? Is anyone out there signed up or excited about the upcoming National Novel Writing Month? I’d really love to get some helpful hints about the program myself from anyone who has joined it in previous years, and would also like to hear what newcomers like myself have to say about it. Drop me a comment and tell me what you think/love/look forward to!

Take care everyone. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month … A.K.A. NaNoWriMo

  1. I look forward to pushing myself to bang out 50k words in a month by using my sub-concious creativity and then seeing what finished product came out of it :). I think when we finish we may be quite surprised with ourselves. Good luck to you, Sandra!

    Like

  2. Hi there,

    I just found your blog and saw that you’d signed up for NaNoWriMo. Congratulations! I signed up last year and did it last November. As you already know, the excitement of their work and website is absolutely contageous, and their fun-loving and inspiring outlook makes you really want to just write!

    From experience, I can say that it was one of the most challenging, yet most rewarding, things I’ve done in a long time. What a rush! 50,000 words in a month…It was absolute chaos and so much fun. There were a lot of late, late nights, and about two hours of work per day for me…if I was inspired that is! πŸ˜‰ Might I suggest that you listen to music? It’s my favorite writing tool. I love movie scores. Inspiring music can help move things along. Also, don’t back up to read much of what you’ve already written in your NaNo novel, unless you need a reminder about your plot. It becomes distracting. At least it was that way for me.

    I did manage to accomplish the task the time I did it. It is a historical fiction novel (or maybe a novella, at about 105 pages). I hit 50,000 words in 29 days. I’ve spent the months since the end of last November revising and correcting things so that it makes more sense. Just because I managed the deadline doesn’t mean I did it well! NaNoWriMo was one of the greatest things I’ve ever done, and I hope to do it again…if not this November, maybe the next.

    Happy writing! I love writing, too. There’s nothing quite like it.

    NaNoWriMo should be a lot of fun for you. πŸ™‚ (Hope you don’t mind this lengthy message!)

    Like

    • I don’t mind the long message at all! In fact, I LOVE reading long messages. I’m glad you left such a lengthy comment. I enjoyed reading about your experience with NaNoWriMo.

      I’m expecting a lot of chaos, especially since I’m about to do a Graphic Design internship soon (the month of November, to be exact >.< )

      I also love listening to music as well while I write! I find some songs fit the storyline so well (like fast-paced beats to a good dramatic action chapter) πŸ™‚ Movie scores are awesome! Some movies have amazing scores.

      I'll remember not to read too much of what I've already written. I completely agree that it can be distracting sometimes, and this contest is a rush, so getting behind would not be something I want to happen!

      Thanks for giving me some pointers! I really appreciate it! πŸ˜€ I hope I have a lot of fun with this!

      P.S. I checked out some of your Fall Colors pictures on your blog. Very nice pictures! Beautiful work! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

