Manuscript Editing

“Still, I wonder if we shall ever be put into songs or tales. We’re in one, of course, but I mean: put into words, you know, told by the fireside, or read out of a great big book with red and black letters, years and years afterwards. And people will say: “Let’s hear about Frodo and the Ring!” And they will say: “Yes, that’s one of my favourite stories.”

–           Samwise Gamgee, The Lord of the Rings

So today I’m hacking away at my manuscript, removing things, adding other things. Basically I’m trying to perfect it (or try to) as best as I can. It’s a time consuming task, but I’m up to the challenge. I’m getting really excited about putting my foot into the door of publishing. It may be rough, but I’m come this far. To back out now would be very stupid. So I’m being a busy bee all day, writing my story called, “The Secret World of Dragons“.

It’s my favourite piece of work. I wrote it when I was fourteen and I’ve just recently decided to edit it and make it better. It’s been a long time in the process, but I hope it turns out well. Here is a short summary of my story.

~

Sometimes in life, one must make a tremendous decision that will determine where fate will take them next. Emma’s fate was decided upon her sixteenth birthday.

Emmaline Reeve is a quiet high-school student who lives with her father, Lucas Reeve, in the small town of Emburn. Upon receiving a strange jewel for her birthday, Emma unknowingly steps into a destiny she doesn’t want to have. When an unusual creature named Mystic appears at her house, she has no choice but to follow him into the secret world of dragons, where adventure, mystery, and dark secrets await her. Emma has to somehow overcome her own fears to save the dying world before everything she loves is destroyed.

Leave a Reply

