RSS Feed

Book Review: The Maze Runner

First off, I’d like to apologize for abandoning my blog for such a long time. Won’t happen again, I swear. I’ve been doing some reading while away and have a few reviews lined up over the next few weeks. I have a few movie and show reviews, as well, but we’ll save that for another day.

I’m reviewing “The Maze Runner” by James Dashner in this post. Here is the blurb from the Amazon page:

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
 
Remember. Survive. Run.”

The Maze Runner is the story of a boy who wakes up in a lift with no memories, save for his name: Thomas. Throughout the story you learn about “the Glade”, the maze, the boys and lone girl, and why they were all sent there. Every day Runners go into the maze surrounding the Glade and search for a way out, but to no avail.

It’s a fast paced book with a ton of mystery surrounding it. I had fun reading it, trying to figure out the puzzles presented. There were some sad moments that I personally didn’t feel moved by, but the suspense of the story kept me interested. Thomas is a character you either want to kick or feel sorry for most of the time, but he pulls off some heroic plays that make you like him by the end of the book. The story is being developed into a movie, which I’m looking forward to watching. I’ll post a screenshot below.

On Goodreads, I gave The Maze Runner 4/5 stars. 4 because it was compelling and a good thriller.

mazerunnerpic

About Sandra's Stories

Hello, my name is Sandra Harvey and I love to write! I also enjoy graphic design and create my own book covers. I currently live in Canada and blog in my spare time, which lets me vent out a few thoughts and express myself more-so than I would in the real world. Enjoy reading!

One response »

  1. Omg, it’s you! You’re back! *cheers* It’s good to see you back in the blogosphere!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 394 other followers

